Thoughts and Words

A Dog’s Prayer For His Master

I received this in 1987 from the breeder of my first dog, Asterix, a beautiful and sweet black labrador. His loss, is one of the more painful things I’ve endured and something I’ve never come to terms with.

Here’s to all ye dog lovers, may your dogs be blessed and happy throughout their lives.

O LORD OF HUMANS,
Make my master faithful to his fellow-man as I am to him. Grant that he may be devoted to his friends and family as I am to him. May he be open-faced and undeceptive as I am; may he be true to trust reposed in him as I am to his.

Give him a face cheerful like unto my wagging tail; give him a spirit of gratitude like unto my licking tongue. Fill him with patience like unto mine that awaits his footsteps uncomplainingly for hours; fill him with my watchfulness, my courage and my readiness to sacrifice comfort or life.

Keep him always young at heart and crowned with the spirit of my play. Make him as good a man as I am a dog; make him worthy of me, his dog.

6 thoughts on “A Dog’s Prayer For His Master

  1. Of all the prayers and poems about and for dogs, I think this one is the best. Not only does it capture the all the qualities that make our dogs so special but I love the way it gently reminds us to be better people by being more like them.

  2. The difference between a man and a dog is indistinguishable.. Both love blindly when they find the right person, and wag their tails when you talk nice to them or scratch their ears.. ~!~
    Marylin Monroe

  3. A Pets Prayer:

    “Treat me kindly, my beloved friend, for no heart in the entire world is more grateful for your kindness than mine.

    Don’t be angry with me for long, and don’t strike me,
    chain me or lock me up as punishment.
    After all, you have your job, your friends and your entertainment.

    I only have you.”

Leave a Reply

